RPG Stash Challenge!

Welcome to 2015! I have been thinking about 2014 vs 2015 and how I wanted to kick this year of blogging off. Unsurprisingly, the best idea came from my wife.

My wife is a crafter. Her bins of yarn, paper, stamps, arcane torture implements, and hole punches put my gaming collection to shame. She and her friends, in an attempt to prevent their craft stash from collapsing in upon itself and forming some sort of malevolent gestalt sentience, have challenged each other to ‘Stash Bust’ in the year.  Essentially, their goal in 2015 is to create, craft, and burn through their supplies to clear room for new material.

When I heard about it, I thought it was a great idea. I mean, I have tons of games on my shelf that I collected over the years. I am intrigued by them, I spent money on them for some reason, yet they have yet to see life at the gaming table. So I am putting out the challenge to any and all who will take it up.  RPG Stash Busting Challenge 2015. Comment here or on my G+ thread. List four games on your shelf that you want to bust through this year. Run said games. That simple.  To make it a true challenge, one shots don’t count. You need at least four sessions of a game for it to count. Give the game a chance. Air it out and take it out for a run.

My RPG Stash Busting Challenge 2015 list:

Shadows of Esteren – I have read all their books, and am supporting their Kickstarter but have yet to even make a character for it.

Adventurer, Conqueror, King – I have run a couple of sessions of this in the past. This year’s goal is Dwimmermount. Or at least get a group to D@W levels.

Mindjammer – This game captured my imagination and I want to get it in front of my group. They love Fate, and Mindjammer solves most of my group’s issues with the system.

Numenera ­– Another game that I have only run oneshots for after a failed campaign in 2013.

In Nomine – My first game-line that I collected for the sake of collecting!

What is on your list for 2015?

2 thoughts on “RPG Stash Challenge!

  1. Colin says:

    Great idea! I do the same thing and I would love to try out some of these “collectibles.” Four games is also a good trial period. My games would be…

    Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: I loved the interpretation enough to pick up all the books as PDFs and buy a physical copy of the core. I’m not even going to let the massive canon backlog stop me…

    Firefly RPG: Second verse, same as the first. I have the book and a group of fans. Time to try thus puppy out.

    Changeling – The Lost: I’ve played most of the nWoD lines but this one is still waiting. I even have some guys hmwho would be amused by Victorian Lost, and that’s nothing to squander.

    Kerberos Club: My group’s played other ORE games but not this one. It’s another Victorian setting but with flying vigilantes! What’s not to like?

Leave a Reply

