Rub Some Dirt on It

If you are not familiar with that idiom, it means get over it and get on with it. I, for a while, have felt off my game. My GM game. I had a couple of really promising campaigns fizzle, a string of rough sessions, and over all, felt out of sync with my normal rhythm of gaming.

It has been a slow going process trying to figure out what has been going on, and that is really a story for another time. But, the long and the short of it is, I love to run great games. Not good games, but great games.  Games that still get talked about years later.  Games players love to hate, with twists and consequences. Games players become emotionally invested in, that they burn secret notes in, that they cry, and rage, and love in. So you can imagine, with that as my end goal, how frustrating must be to feel like you are falling short.

But all that changed this weekend. And I owe it to the man who turned me from a good GM into a great GM. John Wick.

The Legend of the Five Rings, 7th Sea, Houses of the Blooded guy, not the new Keanu Reeves’ movie character. (But weird, right?)

85816

This book right here. Everything I learned about running great games, I learned from Play Dirty, by John Wick. Consequences, dirty tactics, messing with perceptions, character death, all from this small little book. Most of the basis of the articles for this blog find their roots here.

This is not a review. I could not do that to my editor. This is a rough whisper from the dark alley behind your FLGS. ‘Hey kid, want to run a better game?’

If you are a GM, you need to read this book. It changed my game for the better years ago. And, last night, it whispered to me from the shelf. It promised to show me the way again. It was smooth, seductive, and it delivered.

The Planescape game is about to get the Short End of the Wick Stick.

You can get Play Dirty on drivethrurpg.com. You may love it, you may hate it. But, your game won’t be the same after reading it. Go rub some dirt on your game!

UPDATE!!!!!!!: HOLY CRAP…sorry.  Holy CRAP!  I just posted this blog post, maybe 30 minutes ago, and what do I see when I go to post this on G+?  Play Dirty 2 went live on Kickstarter 3 days ago. Mind blow.  Money Spent.

Leave a Reply

