Gaming Update

It is has been a while since I did one of these updates.  While I did manage to keep the reviews flowing these last couple of weeks, I love chatting about my games and a lot has happened in the last couple of weeks.

Mage is going very well.  I love that game and my players.  They are currently in the middle of a black market antiquities deal gone horribly wrong.  Family, lovers, and mummies this adventure has it all.  Genevieve’s father is the owner of one of the company’s involved and Eleora’s boyfriend works for the rival company.  Both want this Eye of Horus and are prepared to kill over it.  The session ended with Genevieve, her father and her boyfriend Simon being kidnapped, Roth and Zahir being attacked by the djinn who have been tracking them, and Eleora traveling with a mummy to retrieve the artifact only to be attacked by werewolves.

I planned cliffhangers because Mage is going on hiatus for the foreseeable future, and I wanted the last session to stand out in the player’s minds.  Of my four players two of them, whose house we play at, are expecting their second baby this Friday.  So they will be out for the next four to six weeks.  The current plan is to either play the Pathfinder Adventure Card game, so I get to play something, or a short Numenera adventure.  Either way I am going to be having a great time.

The Dresden Files game on Wednesdays has been a lot of fun.  It has had its issues getting going, mainly due to the GM starting a new job and not being available consistently, but man when it is going on we are having fun.  I am pretty sure my character is not going to make it to the end of the story.  And it is all my fault.  If you are familiar with the Dresden world: my red-court infected character was helping a knight of the cross deal with a drug dealer and picked up a tarnished silver coin.  Yeah… one of those coins. (If you are not familiar with Dresden, why are you reading this blog?  Stop and go read Dresden till the gravity of my situation is clear to you, come back and finish this post, and then go back and read the rest of the series.)

The GM also had a great ‘OH MAN’ moment last week, where a flippant comment he made would have been the greatest gaming reveal of all time.  Basically, he made the comment that Riley (one of the PCs) might not have ever existed but might have been the coin messing with my head.  We all sat in stunned silence, as that would have been an astonishing greatest plot twist.  We all knew he was just joking, but he was kicking himself for not thinking of it earlier. It was priceless.

Ta’nar, the world that I am writing for publication, is coming along nicely and looks like we are on track for the player’s guide being ready for playtest in December.  I have a number of good friends and great writers filling out sections with me, and I am very excited to see this project continue to rumble towards the finish line.  As I talk more about it in the coming months, if you would like to be an editor or a play tester for the adventure in 2014, drop me a line here at the blog and I will add your name to the list.

All in all a couple great weeks of gaming with some major changes on the horizon. Tuesday nights are up in the air with either the Pathfinder card game or Numenera being on the table till Mage returns.  For Wednesday, Outlands continues to be prepped for a launch in 2014 and Dresden is going strong, but will be wrapping up soon.  In October we are starting the last of the quarterly games we will be playing this year, Shadowrun 5.  The GM is passionate about Shadowrun, our group loves it and there is a new edition.  What better way to end our year of mini-campaigns.

 

Leave a Reply

