Go Ask Alice

The first session of Mage was last night, and I had a blast.  My group leapt into this new game with both feet.  We had a bit of housekeeping to take care of right off the bat.  Resonances were picked, game mechanics were explained, but after about twenty minutes I was able to start.  A little bit of an opening monologue over the sound of White Rabbit and we were off.

This game is a big shift from my last game, and I think I was successful in conveying that.  There was no combat and no resolution in the first session.  It was 100% setup and investigation.  The player’s had full control of where they could go, and did a great job of working together and getting a lot of leg work done.  They know there is a puzzle, and have started assembling some of the border pieces.

I don’t think I will go into the plot of the game here on this blog, or do recaps of the night’s sessions at this point.  Those will be available on our Obsidian Portal site.  I will talk about themes, or specific events that came up.

I plan on starting each story off with a theme song.  Sometimes I plan to voice over it, sometimes I will just let the song play.  The point will be to set the mood, or convey something about the story.  White Rabbit was chosen to convey, unsubtly I admit, that the world they were about to enter was not their own.  It is strange, and dark, and terrifying.  I honestly don’t know if the song conveyed that, but will we see how it plays out in the future.

Also, I have to say, I was caught completely off guard by two of my players.  I am blessed to have a 50/50 split in the group of guys to girls.  When I asked them about what they wanted for their closing scenes, the guys fixed their bikes or ran lab tests.  The girls, both of whom have romantic ties to this first story arc, wanted to go on dates.  It was completely out of left field but totally in character and I loved it.

We shall see how this all plays out.

Burning Wheel Week 4 response is out to my players, I will post that and the Week 5 question tomorrow.  Our Wednesday night game got canceled for the next two weeks, so I will be running either a Torchbearer or RQ6 one shot next week. That should be a lot of fun.

Speaking of RQ6, I would like to send big thanks to Design Mechanism.  They enjoyed the RuneQuest review and have sent me their other pdfs to review.  So expect Monster Island up sometime in the next two weeks, followed by the Book of Quests.

So that was my week in gaming, what about yours?

Leave a Reply

