A Busy Week

I have a lot going on this week, gaming wise.  Tomorrow is the last session of my heroic tier 4th Edition Dungeons and Dragons game.  I am running the Scales of War adventure path, and the heroes find themselves trapped in the Dwarven city of Overlook with a troll army led by a shadowy figure besieging it.

It has been a strange campaign.  It is not the game I wanted to run at the time.  We were all gearing up for a Mage game, when my buddy deployed.  He loves Mage and asked if we could wait the 6 months till he came back to start.  So somehow, I don’t remember how, we ended up adding three people to the group and I started running this DnD game.  I only remember choosing the Scales of War path so I didn’t have to do any planning beyond reading the next couple of encounters and drawing some maps.  It has been a fun campaign never the less, and even with the group being at seven people for the majority of the campaign.

It should be fun to see how it ends up. Recap of the final session and some thoughts on the game will be up on Wednesday.

Then Wednesday night is the epic conclusion to the World of Warcraft game that my buddy Chris is running.  It has been building to a huge fight at a troll village for the last month, and this week it is our characters verse the army of the Matriarch.  You can read all about it in our adventure write ups here.  I am excited to see how Chris wraps this up!  I have enjoyed the story; he is always one for crafting intriguing game events, so post-campaign write up on Thursday.

Finally, this weekend saw the last of the responses to my World Burning Question #1 email coming from my players.  Here is what my group came up with.  They really want a low fantasy, heroic game.  They want the game to start off serial, with the adventures not really linked by anything, but have a story arc reveal as the game unfolds.  The feel of magic was mentioned in almost all of the responses.   They settled on magic being distant and unfamiliar.  It exists in the dark places of the world, and is most prevalent in the hands of those who would abuse it.  I am thinking of using the corruption rules from Magic Burner to aid in the feel of this type of magic.

There were a couple of other details that arose from the responses.  These include the desire for multiple races, a broad event in the foreground at the start of the game (possibly a war), and the inclusion of witch hunters or an inquisition.  I am excited about the desire for new races, as the elves and dwarves are too fantastic for this type of game, in my opinion.  It will be interesting to see where and how this line of thought develops.

In all honesty, this type of game could be hard to do in Burning Wheel.  The serial nature is the potential stumbling block here. I am more than willing to try, but if we get three months into planning and I feel there is a better system, I will propose it.  Iron Heroes is tickling the back of my mind, but I would really love to see this as a Burning Wheel game.  I will to be targeted with my future questions, using them to facilitate the group towards a game world that will work seamlessly with Burning Wheel.  How?  I don’t quite know yet.  But I do know this week’s question.  I will post it in more detail when I send it to my players, but the gist of it is: Is the world old or young?

Leave a Reply

